Laurelhurst Community Club                                                     

Serving 2800 Households and Businesses in Seattle’s Laurelhurst Neighborhood


January 20, 2006


Chelsea Tennyson

SR 520 Project Office

414 Olive Way, Suite 400

Seattle, Washington  98101


RE:  SR 520 Corridor Aesthetics Design Advisory Committee


Dear Ms. Tennyson:


            The Laurelhurst Community Club Board of Trustees is pleased to nominate Joe Herrin to serve on your SR 520 Corridor Aesthetics Design Advisory Committee.  The nomination form with the specific information you request is attached.  Joe’s professional background and history of working effectively with community groups will make him an asset to your committee.


            While we appreciate being invited to nominate a representative from Laurelhurst to your committee, our Board of Trustees is concerned that communities north of the Montlake Cut, other than Laurelhurst, have been excluded from participation, as has the University of Washington.  This issue was discussed at the January 2006 Northeast District Council (NEDC) meeting.  The NEDC represents 20 community and business organizations, both north and south of the Montlake Cut.  All NEDC member organizations will be impacted by SR 520 expansion.  At the NEDC meeting, it was agreed that should Joe Herrin be appointed to represent the Laurelhurst community that he should also be designated to represent the NEDC.  Appointing Joe to serve in this dual capacity will ensure that all interested communities are aware of the committee’s work.  


            Thank you for considering the nomination of Joe Herrin to serve on your SR 520 Corridor Aesthetics Design Advisory Committee.  We hope you will appoint him to represent both our community and the NEDC and extend an invitation to participate to the University of Washington.




Jeannie Hale, President

3425 West Laurelhurst Drive NE

Seattle, Washington  98105

206-525-5135 / fax 206-525-9631


cc:  Matt Fox and Jim O’Halloran, Co-Chairs, Northeast District Council; Karen Ko, Department of Neighborhoods; Theresa Doherty, University of Washington